Not Exhausted

I used to be a teacher.  I’m not anymore.  After 5 years, I’m ready for something new and something that doesn’t consume your life quite as much as teaching.  I know it’s cliche, but unless you’ve been a teacher, you really don’t understand how much of your life is dedicated to the job.  Even when I was student teaching in college, I didn’t fully understand.  Teaching is very rewarding and there’s a lot I will miss about the classroom, but I am happy to have my life back.

 

One thing in particular that I’ve noticed is how much more energy I have.  I am still working (just not at a school) and have put in several long days.  However, when I get home I’m not completely exhausted.  I’m a little tired, but I still want to do…stuff.  When I was teaching, it was like this on weekends:

Seriously.

I miss my teacher friends and my kiddos.  I miss hearing their funny quips each day.  But I don’t miss the physical, mental, and emotional drainage that teaching takes on you.  So to all the teachers out there, you are awesome.  You are selfless.  You are stronger than me.  I admire you.  True rock stars.  I’m hoping to spread the love and encouragement you deserve throughout this year (and coming years).  That’s one reason I loved Jerodelle’s Romy Project.  Check it out if you know teachers need the love.

That’s my thought for this Thursday.  I’m going to enjoy my tiredness (not exhaustion) today.

You got somethin' to say?

