Week in the Life: Update

Last week I started working on part two of the Week in the Life project.  It took several days to edit the photos I wanted to print, then I used my Selphy to print them all.  In hindsight, it would probably have been better to send the pictures to a photo printing site like Shutterfly, but using the Selphy is so easy…I just didn’t even think about it until I was half way done!  Once my photos were printed, I deliberated over what type of album to put them in.  I had both horizontal and vertical photos I wanted to include and I didn’t have page protectors that would easily accommodate that.  I wanted to spend as little money as possible on the project and use supplies I already had (at least for the most part), so divided page protectors were out.  I also didn’t want a huge 12×12 album.  So what size did I end up with?  10 1/2×11.  Yes, you read that right.  Let me explain…

 

Once I had figured out that I didn’t want page protectors and a large album, I thought maybe I could buy some chipboard, punch holes and use ring clips to make an album.  I went to Michael’s and found the perfect thing:  a kit with 10 already-hole-punched chipboard pages plus rings!  It was $5 and I had a 50% off coupon.  $2.50 for my “album?”  Yes, please!  They were large pieces and I assumed they were 12×12.  I thought that since they were less bulky than an actual 3-ringed album, it would be okay at that size.  Got them home and looked at them again next to my 12×12 paper.  They were just smaller.  I measured.  10 1/2″ x 11″.  How handy…

 

That meant I had to trim my paper to be exactly that size.  When I put my photos against the patterned paper I had picked out, they sort of blended into the background too much.  They didn’t pop.  “I know!” thought my ingenious little self, “I’ll cut white cardstock paper to mat them!”  I cut a few rectangles to frame my 3×4 photos and put them on the paper.  It looked great!  Amazing!  Stupendous!

 

Then I started putting the album together.

 

I printed a TON of pictures, so I needed a TON of little white cardstock mats.  I also needed a TON of background pages and everything needed a TON of adhesive since it wasn’t going into a page protector.  I ran out of adhesive at one point and had to go to Michael’s for more.  Got home with my 3 pack of Tombow roller adhesive and discovered that I had actually bought a pack of refills, not individual rollers.  I was determined not to go back to Michael’s again, so I used the refills (with much difficulty, I might add) to finish the last several pages.

 

Yeesh.

 

I still love this project, but I have A LOT of ideas for how to make it better and easier next time!!

 

ANYWAY.

 

I’ve got some (not that great) pictures of my progress.  There are still a few things I want to add and then next week, I’m planning to make a video walk through of the final project.  Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Blank Cover

This is the cover before I decorated it.  The chipboard is REALLY thick and the rings are quite strong.  I’m happy about that since I’m wanting this album/project to last a good long time!

Decorated Cover

The decorated cover!  I had a lot of fun putting this together last night and I’m pleased with how it turned out.

Inside Album 4

Each day has a 6×11″ sheet that is a write up from my daily note sheets.  I added the day and date to each one.  Monday was a full day!

Inside Album 5

On the back of the write up sheets, I have pictures followed by a full page with more pictures.  No captions necessary since it’s all explained in the half-page of journaling.

Inside Album 2

Thursday was a little different since there was NO room on the sheet for a day/date!  I ended up putting it on that white card which is attached to the side of the page underneath.  I had two extra pictures for the day that I didn’t want to put by themselves on the back of the full page.  So I added this small piece with washi tape.  That probably made no sense, but you’ll see it better in the video!

Inside Album 3

Here’s how I accommodated the vertical pictures with the horizontal pictures.

  Inside AlbumSunday was also a full day and I had just enough pictures to finish the last page!

Some finishing touches and I’ll be DONE!  Look for the final video of my Week in the Life next Tuesday!

You got somethin' to say?

