Week in the Life Lessons

OK, I promise this is the last post about Week in the Life!  As I went through this project, I learned a few things about what to do different next time to make completing things much smoother and simpler.  Here we go:

 

1.  Start with the end in mind.

If you watched my video from Tuesday, you know that my album was a goofy size.  I also had a mix of vertical and horizontal photos that made choosing an album type difficult.  Next time, I’m going to take all horizontal photos.  Then I’ll be able to choose a standard type of page protector, slip photos in pockets and be on my way!  Shopping for an album beforehand might also be helpful (so I’ll know how many photos I can use for each page/day).

 

2.  Send photos to an online printer.

I printed my pictures with my Selphy.  Easy?  Yes.  Quick?  Double yes.  But cost-effective?  Probably not.  I could have printed them much more cheaply had I sent them to Snapfish or another similar online printer.

 

3.  Stay simple!

I made my album so much more complicated than it needed to be.  Next time, with some planning ahead, I’m going to have a quick and easy way to display my photos and wrap up the project much more quickly.

 

Just a final thought:

I so enjoyed this project.  I recently started a new, less-stressful job and that’s what enabled me to do this WITL to begin with!  My old job was great, but it was totally exhausting and took over my life.  I NEVER would have attempted to even start a project like this because I knew I would just get too tired and I would never have the time to put a whole album together.  With my new job and my new lifestyle, I can do fun crafty things like this and I don’t view it as another chore to add to my ‘to do’ list.  I actually had a good time doing it!  I’m excited about finding other similar projects to take part in.  If you haven’t given something like this a try–go for it!  And feel free to link to your blog or YouTube channel below to share your projects!

You got somethin' to say?

